Not forgotten

Yes, I am still around – but sooo busy…

img_6757 img_6763A dozen or a score of books or so, and I can particularly recommend:

  • “Weathering” by Lucy Wood, which I think makes an excellent cold-weather or rainy-day read (not actually had any of that, but still!)
  • “Running Blind” and “The Freedom Trap” by Desmond Bagley, as exciting as back in the 80s, so any thriller by him, really!
  • “Headhunter” by Jo Nesbø – a clever plot, if a little primitive at times :o!
  • “Through the Language Glass” by Guy Deutscher (perception of colour in language) followed by
  • “Colour: Travels through the Paint Box” by Victoria Finley – these two go very well together…
  • Any of the Maigret books by Simenon, my duo was the Old Lady and the Dead Girl
  • A History of English Food by Clarissa Dickson-Wright, which is just what it says on the package, a great romp through a cuisine that has undeservedly got itself a bad name and is nothing less than fascinating!

A lot of knitting in the sun – when I get back home to Switzerland, there will be plenty to document 🙂

I even found some Breton wool, something I had never seen in the 25 years I’ve been coming here:

img_6887 img_6886On BBC Radio 4 this morning, they were discussing what “rest” means to various people – I can definitely say that for me, sunshine and a breeze through the trees, feet up with a book or some knitting, plenty of water and tea and beautiful surroundings certainly do the job! I really have nothing whatsoever to complain about. My husband joins me this week, too!

Back in October…

One thought on “Not forgotten

  1. Far, far better than messing about in boats … though that also has a lot going for it!
    Delighted for you that you have been able to “just be” and enjoy la dolce far niente xxx

Leave a Reply

